Led Zeppelin History – May 23

Today in 2006 in Stockholm, the King of Sweden presented the surviving members of Led Zeppelin with the Polar Music Prize, recognizing them as “great pioneers” of rock music. Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones and Zoe Bonham (John Bonham’s daughter) were in attendance to accept the award.

The Polar Music Prize (http://www.polarmusicprize.org) was founded in 1989 by Stig Anderson, manager of Swedish pop group ABBA. Previous winners include Sir Paul McCartney, Bruce Springsteen and producer Quincy Jones.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s