Led Zeppelin History – Dec 3

Today in 1972 Led Zeppelin appeared at Green’s Playhouse in Glasgow, Scotland.

Press:
LED ZEPPELIN press man BP Fallon was beaten up during Zeppelin’s first concert at Green’s Playhouse, Glasgow, on Sunday night. The band were playing two nights in Glasgow, and there had been some confusion over tickets – plus some forgeries in circulation.

Fallon was trying to sort things out, and approached someone who he’d been told had been selling tickets outside the theatre. “I’m not big enough to be aggressive, even if I wanted to be,” said Fallon on Monday, “but I went up to him and said I understood there’d been some confusion about tickets.” The guy and two friends jumped on BP and beat and kicked him. He was cut and bruised, but on Monday was “hobbling around” without serious injury. “Frankly, I’m glad I didn’t get a knife in my back,” he said.

Glasgow police took away a number of tickets, and were planning to keep a close watch on people selling them outside the venue on Monday. On Sunday night, some people paid £5 for £1 tickets to see Zeppelin.
Greens

Leave a comment